May 6, 2013

2012-13 Case Competition Judges



Anne Day
Day is the Founder of Company of Women, an award-winning organization that supports, connects, and promotes women entrepreneurs. The needs of women and children have been the center of her career in the public, private and non-profit sectors. She is an author and regular Huffington Post contributor, and is a former ATHENA foundation award recipient and board member.


CBS Radio Panel – Amy Morris
Amy is an award-winning news anchor and reporter, anchoring morning drive news in DC since 2005. She has earned the Associated Press Investigative Reporter of the Year Award, and a National Edward R. Murrow award for her work covering the “Beltway Sniper.” Today Amy works for CBS News in Washington D.C. You can hear her every morning  from 5 until 10 on All News 99.1 WNEW and on


CBS Radio Panel – Judlyne Lilly-Gibson
Lilly-Gibson is a news anchor for WNEW All News 99.1. In addition to her work at the station, she is also the founder of Second Street Dreams, LLC which provides short from programming for online radio stations and websites. Awards include the AIR AWARD for best locally produced public affairs program, and Special Recognition in Playwriting from the Lorraine Hansberry Award at the American College Theatre Festival.  She was also part of the team at WNEW that won the Edward R. Murrow award.


CBS Radio Panel – Nancy Lyons
Lyons is a Business Anchor and Reporter for CBS Radio’s DC affiliate All News WNEW 99-1-FM which she helped launch as one of the afternoon drive anchors. She comes to WNEW from  National Public Radio All Things Considered. Lyons has won10 national awards for her broadcasting work including the Edward R. Murrow award for her coverage of the September 11th attacks with the Associated Press.


CBS Radio Panel – Patti Cochran
Cochran serves as General Sales Manager for CBS DC’s All News 99.1/ WNEW-FM. Previously Cochran served in senior sales positions for Gannett’s CBS Affiliate WUSA and Clear Channel where she managed $15 million in sales and developed sales talent. She spearheads the CBS Working Women’s Lunch, and is a mentor to the nationally award-winning Women’s Entrepreneurial Leadership Class at the George Washington School of Business.


Diane Tomb
Tomb is currently the President and CEO of the National Association of Women Business Owners which is headquartered in Washington D.C. Founded in 1975, NAWBO® is the voice of America’s more than 10 million women-owned businesses representing interests of women entrepreneurs across various industries.


Ellen Thrasher
Thrasher is the Associate Administrator for the Office of Entrepreneurship Education, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)as well as the Director for the Office of International Visitors and the SBA’s youth entrepreneurship program. Thrasher also serves on the advisory board for the National Women in History Museum.


HRH Princess Fay Al Jahan Ara
Her Royal Highness Princess Fay Jahan Ara is a noted philanthropist. A Persian-born US national, she studied Business and Art at UCLA, USA and at the Heidelberg University, Germany. She is President of the RACH Charity Foundation, a non-profit charitable organization improving the quality of life of underprivileged children and families.

Jill Frey
Frey is a cancer survivor and one of the 13 original founding members of the Young Survival Coalition, for which she has also served as a board member. Young Survival Coalition (YSC) is the premier global organization dedicated to the critical issues unique to young women who are diagnosed with breast cancer. 2013 is their 15 year anniversary.


Katherine Johnson
Johnson was most recently the Senior Vice President of Integrated Marketing at The Oprah Winfrey Network. Previously, she served as the head of Turner Entertainment’s client development and partnership marketing practice, as Turner’s SVP of Promotions and Marketing, and as Director of Marketing for US News & World Report. Katherine began her career on Wall Street as an equities analyst and emerging markets debt trader.


Kimberly Greenberger
Greenberger is a Managing Director for Morgan Stanley who covers North America Specialty and Softline Retailers. Before Morgan Stanley, she covered the same industry for eleven years at Citigroup, Lehman Brothers and Credit Suisse. She has been honored for her stock picking abilities by the Wall Street journal and in 2009 was named one of the “Best on the Street.”


Lesley Jane Seymour
Lesley Jane Seymour was named editor-in-chief of More magazine in January of 2008, where she led the magazine to numerous National Magazine Award nominations and was named to Mediaweek’s 2010 Hot List; the magazine was dubbed “the Vanity Fair for Women” by marketers. Seymour also served as the editor-in-chief of Marie Claire, Redbook and YM.


Maryam Banikarim
Banikarim is the Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer of Gannett Co., Inc., where she is responsible for all company-wide marketing, communications and research efforts.  She also oversees national sales for Gannett’s publishing and digital businesses including USA TODAY. In addition, she serves as a member of the Gannett Leadership Team, the company’s principal management group.


Melissa Bernstein
Melissa Bernstein has designed thousands of toys for Melissa & Doug, the company she co-founded in1988. For the past 25 years, her dedication to listening to parents has positioned the company as a trusted partner by millions of families, and the playthings she creates are designed with those families—and her own six children—in mind.


Pam Stone
Stone is a professor of Sociology at Hunter College as well as the Graduate Center at the City University of New York. She is also a member of the Duke Women’s Forum Executive Committee which is a Alumni association dedicated to bringing together Women of Duke to promote education programming, network and mentorship opportunities.


Susan Jones
Jones is a Professor of Clinical Law at the George Washington University Law School where she founded the nation’s first small business law clinic. Previously, Jones held teaching positions at City University of New York Law School, the American University Washington College of Law and at Antioch School of Law. Previously Jones was the Senior Editor-in-Chief of the ABA’s Journal for Affordable Housing and Community Development Law.


Theresa Alfaro Daytner
Daytner is President and CEO of Daytner Construction Group is one of Fortune’s Most Powerful Woman Entrepreneurs. Daytner is a past President of the National Association of Women Business Owners, DC Chapter as well as the past President of the Maryland Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Young Leader Judges

Each year the Hot Mommas Project likes to highlight outstanding young leaders and include them in our judging panel.

Tina and Trina Fletcher – Young Leader Judges
Tina is the Community Investment Manager for the NBA’s Memphis Grizzlies. Previously, she interned in the Office of the First Lady Michelle Obama and served as a teacher at Anacostia Senior High School in Washington, D.C. where she was named the 2010 Teacher of the Year. Tina earned her BA Political Science and African American Studies from the University of Arkansas and her Master’s degree from secondary education from Harvard University.Trina is an engineer for a Fortune 500 corporation. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Technology from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and a Master’s degree in Operations Management from the University of Arkansas. Trina also earned a second masters degree in Engineering Management at George Washington University. This fall, she will begin her Ph.D. studies at Purdue University within the College of Engineering researching the recruitment and retention of minorities and women in S.T.E.M. Education.

Past Judges:

Leave a Reply